Adam Eyves
1 min readJun 26, 2021

--

You are right. This study isn't an earth-shattering premise, but the way the research team and the author frame it sure hit me square in the face.

As someone who was married to a BDP spouse for 25 years, I had little to no spousal support in my career or personal life and suffered greatly because of it. That relationship was emotionally suffocating and built on the shifting sands of her moods, fears, and insecurities. Everything centered around her emotional needs 24/7 and not mine. I died relationally.

The simple conclusion contained in this article, had I sincerely considered it before marriage, could have saved me decades of lost time and emotional trauma. And that is earth-shattering! A supportive, loving spouse is a slice of heaven. My current wife is my biggest fan and supporter, and I have accomplished more in the last three years than the previous 26.

Pay attention, singles!!!

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.