Adam Eyves
1 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Wow, not the response I was half expecting. I appreciate your kind words, but I still expect the other shoe to drop! Haha...

Yes, I think we are closer in our thinking than you might guess.

There may be something to gain by dialoguing, topic by topic, as long as we stay civil.

For me, you represent the strongest challenge to a faith I have been deconstructing and testing for a long time. I grew up in an evangelical church and got the full indoctrination. I started challenging those beliefs about 15 years ago. I'm not sure the Christian church would recognize me as a true Christian at this point because I don't believe in every essential doctrine anymore.

I do hang onto one idea, though, that points me to an originator of all things. My biggest challenge to a supposed God is, can you get to that originator without the Bible and Judeo-Christian beliefs about that God? That's my motivation to dialog with you. I have no motivation to convert you or even win the argument. This is simply communicating ideas about the toughest existential challenges.

If you are willing, I suggest we move forward like this. I will copy your comment to a new Medium document that we can share with each other and edit or correct if necessary. Maybe we can publish the conversation if we feel we have best represented our positions. Maybe someone else will find something beneficial.

Game?

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.