Adam Eyves
1 min readJun 6, 2022

--

Why would God take time and energy to create a place to eternally torture those who rebelled against him? It solves no problems. Eliminating the rebellious would.

And what about those who were born into a Christian godless culture who never had a chance to get indoctrinated into the Catholic and evangelical concept of hell? Are they worthy of eternal torment and damnation as well? There must be more to the story.

I get no pleasure in imagining the torture of my greatest enemies and I can’t imagine why God would either. And if God does thinks eternal torture is the best answer, then what does that say about Gods nature?

The modern teachings of hell just don’t make sense unless it’s understood as the Santa Claus threat. Are you naughty or nice? Your reward depends on your choice. The concept of hell manipulates people the same way, perhaps to a positive outcome, but likely detrimental to a full understanding of God and salvation.

And, Dan, you are right. Hell is a gun to our heads and not a free will choice. It’s a form of manipulation.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.