Adam Eyves
2 min readOct 15, 2021

--

Wenda, you missed my point. I will explain below.

Long Covid is real, but so are Bell’s palsy and myocarditis cases in some who were vaccinated with the mRNA vaccine. Both are rare, and both your example and mine are tragic outliers. Nevertheless, those are the risks we live with.

The media and politicians in Western countries have spread pandemic fear throughout the world. In western countries, Covid has been politicized, and the governments are using Covid as a tool to make massive power grabs. And the media frenzy is scaring people.

I live in the Philippines, where that is not the case. We follow basic Covid protocols like wearing masks, social distancing, hand sanitizer, common sense stuff, but no one here is protesting and fighting with each other. Instead, we work together for the greater good.

Our vaccination rate is under 15%, and we have a much lower infection and death rate here than in Western countries, despite that. In fact, if Covid pandemic news wasn’t broadcast here 24/7, you wouldn’t even know you were in one. And we don’t need to lock people up in their homes like authoritarian government mandates in Australia. That’s insanity.

We have to recognize that conclusions surrounding the short and long-term effects of Covid and the vaccines are unknown. Humanity has never dealt with this virus or this experimental vaccine technology before. Every aspect of this virus pandemic and vaccine responses is being studied in real-time. It’s a moving target.

So don’t hate on me because I point this out. It just is what it is. And I am not anti-vaxx. I have all the other vaccines given to kids at school.

Feelings are not objective. They lie like the devil. And tragic things happen, but you don’t hate other people because of it. That is the point I was making to Carol.

If you want to change my mind, present up-to-date facts and not outliers. Despite what you might think, I’m not interested in winning an argument. Instead, I want to know the objective truth as we learn it so I can make intelligent decisions. It’s as simple as that.

And we should be worried about more than Covid. If you want to be justifiably upset, be mad at anyone who walks around without masks, regardless of Covid and vaccinations. Be mad at those who refuse to distance themselves socially. Tell people to stop shaking hands, hugging, kissing, holding hands, coughing, and sneezing in public. Tell people to stop going to work when they know they are sick with the flu or cold. All of those social behaviors have killed far more people over the years than Covid ever will. We have terrible social health habits as a society.

I am truly sorry about what happened to your friend. That is by definition, tragic. I wish him and you the best.

Respectfully,

Adam

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.