Adam Eyves
Apr 27, 2024

--

That's a fair point, but in keeping a balanced view, it's clear that Christian values are culturally embedded in the Western world. Christianity's cultural influence over the last 2,000 years includes social welfare, founding hospitals, economics (the Protestant work ethic), natural law (which would later influence the creation of international law), politics, architecture, literature, personal hygiene, and core family values. It gives us the freedom to have this conversation without fear.

Sure, the atheist can point to a few Christian atrocities and corruption, but nothing like the atheistic atrocities brought about through 20th-century communism. Atheism affects Christians, too. We ALL affect our neighbors.

I consider both above examples to be outliers, by the way, and not representative of the whole. I don't know any atheists who are terrorizing my town. And your not accusing Christians of anything bad in your article. Most of us are decent people.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.