Adam Eyves
1 min readSep 20, 2021

--

Thanks for your input.

From my research, here are the original CDC claims:

"Those vaccinated gain this protection without ever having to risk the serious consequences of getting sick with COVID-19."

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/different-vaccines/mrna.html

The CDC promised a 90% effectiveness rate.

"Vaccine effectiveness studies provide a growing body of evidence that mRNA COVID-19 vaccines offer similar protection in real-world conditions as they have in clinical trial settings, reducing the risk of COVID-19, including severe illness, among people who are fully vaccinated by 90 percent or more.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/effectiveness/work.html

Current real-world effectiveness is murky, but in the range of 50-60% (like you said), but falling with each new COVID variant.

The current effectiveness is more comparable to the annual flu than polio, smallpox, and measles vaccines.

What I'm working through now is whether a 50% effectiveness outweighs the risks of a compromised immune system. If our bodies don't develop natural immunity, we will become dependent on updated booster shots. Israel is now readying their 4th shot.

You sound knowledgeable. If you have any info that's helpful to the conversation, please send it my way. I have two more articles in development now.

Thanks, Rebecca!

Adam

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.