Adam Eyves
1 min readAug 23, 2021

--

Thanks for taking the time to comment!

My take is, I don't believe religion, as most people assume the word to mean, is something to build a belief basis on. At best, there might be some truth we can extract out of it.

What I do know is we exist, and I didn't create us. Yup, only those two primary truths are knowable. And what we build on top of that is a bit of secondary truth and a whole lot of speculation. From my conversations, most people deny the idea of a creator because of the religious baggage the church brings with it. And the baggage of four-thousand years of manmade traditions and customs can be very destructive and does little to explain our existence from a worldview perspective. I want to strip all that baggage away and take a fresh look at our history.

My first The Big Rethink article "Deconstructing Faith Deconstruction" dives into the first layer of this. Give it a read if you are interested.

FWIW, my mom died of cancer a year and a half ago. I got stuck in the Philippines a month before she was diagnosed with six months to live. She died a month later. I never got to say goodbye to her in person. I feel you. I have a future article or two that will deal with human tragedy. I hope you will stick around for the conversation.

Thanks again, Warwick!

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.