Adam Eyves
1 min readSep 1, 2022

--

Some people will argue that those books aren't dealing with eternal life, and that if a book supposedly offers the only path forward into heaven, then it better answer the pertinent and critical questions so we don't screw up our salvation.

But I reason that if God dropped us into a cosmic mystery and left humanity alone to figure out our existence for thousands of years before the Bible was ever written or compiled, he knows we will fail in understanding the details, even with the Bible.

It's unfair to expect everyone to know the fullness of creation. I may be wrong, but I can't imagine a God who loves us will hold our mistakes in understanding him against us if we do our best with the information on hand. It's not like we can call him up on his cell phone and ask for a clear explanation.

So you're right, Eric. The Bible isn't a scientific textbook and shouldn't be held to that standard by Christians or the scientific community, nor did God expect it to be.

Also, as I've said before, even if the Bible is inerrant, it still takes a perfect interpretation of that perfection for us to even have a chance at an inerrant understanding. I haven't met a person yet who claims that achievement.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.