Adam Eyves
1 min readJan 3, 2023

--

Lilith, are you more interested in truth or claps? That's an honest question. I find your perspective raw and honest, which is why I read many of your articles. I also find your perspective human and flawed -- like all of us.

Like most who rail against Christianity, the truth is getting lost in the church baggage. Church people do weird things, but so do non-Christians. If you have honest questions, you must look for answers beyond flawed people and weird institutions, despite the hurt they may have caused you.

I will leave you with a second question: Do you believe that everything came from nothing, and that existence sprang from non-existence? If so, you are as guilty of magical thinking as a Christian/other religion who has faith in an originator of our universe. Science has no answer for that.

That said, how that universe was put together is for science to determine. The Bible, Christianity, nor any religious text claims to be a science book. The Bible is chocked full of metaphors, myths, and parables, by ancient people trying to understand the world around them, including the creation story in Genesis.

I agree that adhering to a literal interpretation of those stories is foolish. Nevertheless, we shouldn't trash those stories because an ignorant reader can't understand the profound archetypal truths contained within them.

I'll assume you were going for the claps. :-)

Best wishes for 2023.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.