Adam Eyves
2 min readJul 31, 2022

--

Like so many things, I think making sense of our existence is a matter of perspective. We exist, but did we come to exist from nothing? To me, it's absurd to think we spontaneously sprang into existence without external intention. Everything does not come from nothing. So the leap to God, creator, originator, inventor, or whatever a person wants to call this entity, isn't that hard. I think you have made the leap.

From our perspective, the next question is concerning this entity's nature, whether good or bad. But this entity has a perspective, too. It has reasons we likely can't fathom. Why were we created in the first place? No one does anything without a "reason" compelling them to do so. From our perspective, this entity dropped us into existence with zero clues as to why. To us, this God is aloof and distant. It's hands-off with humanity in any provable scientific way, and it lets us run amuck, hence the screwed-up world in which we live. But again, there must be a reason for it doing so.

Humanity has tried to define and develop systems of thought on all this, and all we are left with is our best guesses in the form of science, philosophy, and religion, but no one has concrete answers. We are left with two things: one, I exist, and two, I empirically know that I did not create the universe in which I exist. That's it. The rest is faith, whether religious or scientific.

The real question then becomes, who am I in relation to this creator? Personally, I want to be in that guys corner. If he made me, maybe I have value to him. And that's not a bad thing.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.