Les Poèmes №2 — Éros

Adam Eyves
2 min readJul 31, 2021

A short poem and exposé on the fickle and elusive nature of love.

The Kiss Klimt Inspired

When love came to me in a dream, I tried to capture her essence with words, but she is an elusive creature and only settles on you like a butterfly, meaning, as she wills.

A leap to the sky only finds her gone upon my arrival, her meandering path as unpredictable as a wisp of smoke. But her beauty causes a schoolboy effort, again and again, to gain her affections.

Then, at last, she embraces me, and I feel her warmth and security within my soul, the deepest of all comforts.

This poem is written in a voice from a bygone era when men and women displayed their romantic sentiments freely and without shame.

I have since found my Éros, my blessing, my comfort, my pleasure.

Éros
Oct. 2011

Éros was her name, and full of dainty questions she was.

“Will you cherish me always, my beloved?” she lilted. “I am fair and pure, delicate and full of need. Assure me you will treasure me always?” said she through fluttering eyes.

I, under her spell, could not resist her feminine intimations.“It is but my privilege, my dearest one,” I fawned.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.