Adam Eyves
Apr 12, 2024

--

I’ve often wondered why theologians and pastors are so uncomfortable acknowledging that Bible writers struggled within their humanity, just like we do. Of course, they were influenced by the Jewish culture around them, and those influences impacted their writings and viewpoints. And I think that is OK as long as long as we are aware of it. The scary part of Psychology in the church is that it exposes the mechanisms of human behavior, manipulation, and scapegoats sin in some people’s view. There’s nowhere for the Christian leader or follower to hide. It’s very unsettling for Christians to discover they are under the influence of other people and cultures when they feel they (or God) has always been in control.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.