Adam Eyves
2 min readMay 7, 2024

--

I really appreciate your response because it helps me better understand your perspective and motives. You're right that I don't know the specific experiences that shaped your views, but our experiences are often distortions of the truth. Ask a kid who was molested by a Catholic priest about his truth about Christianity. It's likely very different than mine.

With that in mind, truth matters to me - a lot! I look at truth as the sum of all things knowable. Truth just is, always was, and always will be, whether I recognize it or not. To me, it's a treasure waiting to be discovered, no matter the location. Individuals just capture different facets of it from their unique perspectives, and that adds to the sum of what humanity can know.

I've spent 10 years dismantling the Christian beliefs I was raised in, and no stone is left unturned. So, as wrong as Christianity may be, it's not ALL wrong and of NO value. We don't live in a black-and-white world, and the first sign someone is full of shit is when they claim truth is a binary choice, meaning either/or. As Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach quipped, "Even a broken clock is right twice a day." Gray areas exists.

The rules of logic are a tool, but the validity and outcome of that tool depend on the interpretation and application of the person making a fallacy claim. Theologians have the same problem. They claim an inerrant Bible, but no one can perfectly interpret the full truth of that so-called inerrancy. Both examples are influenced and limited by their biases, IQ, and assumptions of their worldview.

You know this, of course. Many great minds get twisted up in fallacy arguments.

So, when you frame Christianity (or any religion or belief structure) as "all lies," it raises a red flag. Not because you criticize Christianity but because you dishonor and lack respect for the truth, and that discredits you. Like I said, I think you are a better thinker than that and can make a more persuasive argument.

Much of what you say is right on target, and depending on who you are debating, they may deserve your wrath. That's why I reread your article. Because there is truth in some of what you say. It's up to me to extract it.

You challenge me, so you have my attention, and I do look forward to reading your work because I am interested in what you have to say. I am not a hater.

I have a final question for you: Why does debating and writing about Christians even matter to you? In your mind, you stand on a heap of rubble called deconstructed Christianity. For you, Christianity is nothing more than meaningless ancient mythology and fairytales. Fair enough. I view the flat-earth movement the same way. I have navigated my sailboat halfway around the world and can attest, by measurement, that the earth is a sphere. I don't waste a second of my precious time debating flat-earthers.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.