Adam Eyves
1 min readSep 1, 2021

--

I like your article very much, and your point is an interesting one to break down. As you point out in your own words, how many lashes do we need to self-inflict to have enough penance to twist God’s arm enough to forgive us? That’s not grace nor God’s expectation.

Consider, I ate one too many bites of steak last night. I crossed the threshold of gluttony, meaning the lust of the flesh. I need to throw myself at the foot of the cross and cry out to God, pleading for forgiveness. But, in all transparency, I don’t see how that is helpful to God.

If we align our heart with God in steadfast loyalty, intending to live a virtuous life honoring Him, wouldn’t that be of more value to God than Him requiring us to pile the burden of petty sins on our backs to prove our worthiness?

Just thinking out loud.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.