I Killed an Ant Today. God, I’m a Monster!

Adam Eyves
2 min readJul 11, 2021

“An ant scuttled across my computer screen as I was writing today. The audacity! The gall. He is where he ought not to be.”

An ant scuttled across my computer screen as I was writing today. The audacity! The gall. He is where he ought not to be.

With little thought, I put my forefinger on top of him and snuffed out his insignificant life. Then, picking up his tiny carcass, I deposited it on the floor, never once considering his (or my wife’s) thoughts on the matter. God, I suck!

For all I know, he was heading to work, hard hat on his head and lunchbox in hand, ready to punch the company time clock. Likely, he kissed all 30,000 of his happy kids on the forehead before they ran off for school. He then pulled his sexy wife in for a kiss and told her he loved her very much, reminding her to pay the electric bill as he strolled out the door. Then, he was off to the coal mine.

Now, his life is over. All because of me. I’m a total inconsiderate bastard!!

Now, reflect on what the ant is to a human. Not much. Now compare that to what we are to our creator. Even less. We are an amoeba. We are a life form, but microscopic at best.

From a human point of view, I cannot fathom how we can be of any value to the one God, above all others, who created this vast universe, and all life contained within it. What do we offer that is of any worth to God?

What purpose could we possibly serve? To run a few church services each week? Maybe donate a little money to charity? Invite the new neighbors over for a barbeque? Or are we to enjoy this laborious life for no other reason than the simple gift it is?

Or could there be more to this cosmic mystery than meets the eye?

God, I hope so.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.