Adam Eyves
2 min readApr 15, 2024

--

I just answered an athiest who who used this argument for the existence. My response is below if anyone is interested in knowing more about Quantum Fluctuation.

If I understand Edward Tryon (original quantum fluctuation theorist) correctly, he proposed that the whole Universe results from a vacuum fluctuation originating from what we could call "quantum nothingness." To be clear, Tryon's idea that all that exists (matter, energy, etc.) preexisted within a quantum vacuum in differing states, then a bubble-like energy fluctuation out of this vacuum birthed the Universe. I love bizarre and weirdly possible ideas, and there may be something to this.

Except "quantum nothingness" is something. It's called "quantum foam," which exists at the tiny quantum level. This means in the quantum world, empty space isn't exactly empty. That vacuum is actually a vibrant, active place, with tiny subatomic particles appearing and disappearing in wanton abandon. So it's not the same as birthing a universe from literally nothing. This circles me back to the "first-cause" origin theories developed by philosophers and theists. Quantum fluctuations only get me back to the original moment the "material" universe began but with better mechanics to explain it.

I'm not trying to disprove science - I'm a fan of it. I walked away from Ken Ham-type evangelical dogma to test what I was told is biblically true about creation and life, the meaning of existence, and the afterlife. God should be big enough to answer for himself without the help of wacky religion. My goal has been to see if it is possible to find God outside the Bible and organized religion.

The only thread holding me to an "originator of all things" [intelligent designer with agency] and Christian narrative is this:

[No materials] x [no time] x [no intelligence] = [everything universally existant]

0 x 0 x 0 = 0

Objective science has yet to demonstrate the creation of something out of "literal nothing," even when applying great amounts of external forces.

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.