Adam Eyves
Dec 21, 2022

--

I agree, but I haven't fully reconciled the mechanics of this idea. Is that inner voice my connection to a transcendent God in the form of my moral and ethical conscience? The church might define that as the infusion of the Holy Spirit inside a born-again Christian.

Or maybe that voice is just a byproduct of the deep-learning part of our brain that lies beneath consciousness and only expresses itself through the Id, Ego, and Superego, to use Freud's terms, or intuition and instinct in my own.

I'm butchering my question (I'm not a psychologist), but hopefully, you understand what I'm asking. Are we talking about the same thing, or are you describing something beyond that?

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.