Les Poèmes №4 — Hera’s Heart

Adam Eyves
5 min readJun 30, 2021

Hera’s Heart is an old-world poetic allegory of a new husband who slowly builds himself a psychological prison out of virtue and love for his wanting bride.

Marc Chagall 1915 “The Birthday” Public Domain

Laid with a foundation of stones, Young Love set its first course true, not withholding the threshold of which to cross.

White silk and lace dripping across his arms, and his bride swept high; she burst out blushing, “Oh my love, your steps are so sure, and your arms so strong. Carry me to our marriage bed to consummate our love.”

“Our passions run unbridled and free; there is nothing that would delight me more than to unwrap and behold you in all your pleasures,” said he.

When morning came, the young lovers strolled the gardens surrounding their cottage, her arm in his, brimming full of love’s afterglow.

“Husband, if only a white picket fence circled our cottage; wouldn’t this be quaint, my darling? Oh, how perfect that would be. Prove your love for me. Build me a white picket fence,” she asked, her fair complexion radiating in the morning sun.

“My duties to the one I love and cherish are but a privilege if only you would grant me one wish, my one desire in return,” said he.

“Of course, my love, I will grant my prince anything,” said she, as she twirled away through the grass, “but if

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.