Adam Eyves
2 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

From a humanistic point of view, I understand where you are coming from. And I agree that much of our current interpretation of God is wrong and outdated. Technology and science are pulling the curtain back on our old understandings of an ancient idea of God, and exposing many of our traditionally accepted theologies as baseless religious practices. But still, as I point out in my article, there is some merit in organizing society based on a transcendent, generally agreed-upon moral structure; otherwise, he who carries the biggest stick determines right and wrong, and that never ends well for us long-term.

No human has ever created a moral system that works perfectly. Moses was the first human I know of to try to legislate morality. For a while, it held a small Hebrew society together, but in the end, it failed miserably, no matter the enforcement methods used or discipline exerted. Dreamy, philosophical ideas will only work if everyone agrees to them. A quick anecdotal observation of our world civilization says we are not even close to a unifying morality, let alone following it in some transcendent way.

My current view is I still believe there is a creator (originator) of all matter within our universal framework because no one has demonstrated a better cause for our existence. I don't hold this position because I am religious. The spontaneous generation of our vast universe and the insane complexities of life, all happening by accident, out of literally nothing, with no one behind it, and no intelligence or design guiding it, is too giant a leap of faith for my reasoning. And no scientist has any credible, scientifically repeatable data to prove self-generation is even possible. So assuming there is an originator of all things, I'm interested in THAT God (if that is what we want to call it) and his morals on the purest fundamental level. That is a whole other conversation.

Yes, it's true that if I am wrong, it won't matter. We will all be cast into the dustbin of history and forgotten. But if I am right, then how we understand ourselves concerning that originator might matter a lot.

And you are right. Our species is like a 16-year-old boy whose given a Ferrari — out of control and reckless. That is a great analogy. :-)

~ Adam

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.