Adam Eyves
2 min readDec 2, 2022

--

Fair enough. After deep-diving into your articles after writing that comment, I will step back from tagging you as a "traditional" fundamentalist. I will now christen you as a "free-thinking" fundamentalist. :-)

But you still are one. You're just open-minded, and that's a compliment and a good thing!

In my article, I linked to a Catholic writer who wrote the best essay I've ever read about cultish behavior within the church. He's a great thinker and a Catholic. That's how I see you — a great thinker and a Fundamentalist (and great writer, btw). It's in your language, the way you quote scripture, the pastoral gloss of your phrasing, and the structural eloquence of your sentences.

Based on how you present your arguments, I assume you agree with the following: You affirm the historical accuracy and inerrancy of the Bible, the imminent and physical Second Coming of Jesus Christ, and Christ's Virgin Birth, Resurrection, and Atonement. I should add the doctrine of the Trinity to that list, while some might include the doctrine of hell.

Correct me if I am wrong, but that's core fundamentalism, as I understand it.

Several of those essential doctrines are where the cracks in my theological foundation lay. But, maybe I should better explain that I can't prove the truth about them as taught in historical fundamentalist theology. That said, I remain open to all ideas that explain those doctrines, however. But I feel I am a Christian nonetheless, just one with questions.

To a large degree, the churches here in the US have left the rails. Many worship church cultural expression more than we do God, as demonstrated by their actions. I can't buy into church expression that way anymore. Church attendance, for me, happens now in smaller groups without all the production. It is now more of an intellectual cross-pollination with others instead of emotionalism because I found I can't hang my hat on my feelings.

I look forward to reading more of your articles. I don't follow many, but I follow you.

Also, I'm not sure where you stand with Dan Foster, but you should consider submitting some of your articles to BYC. Your articles need to be read, and Dan's website needs balance. I know him pretty well, and I'm sure he would publish you. It could be a place for you to explore your inner thoughts outside your fundamentalist box! LOL Just teasing :-)

Be blessed!

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.