THE BIG RETHINK

BANNED By MEDIUM

I was so careful to follow Medium's COVID-19 policies. Where did I go wrong?

Adam Eyves
10 min readSep 23, 2021

--

Screenshot by Author

My article Why I’m Holding Out On Getting Vaccinated had all the statistical signs of going viral until Medium pulled the plug. I got the following message:

“Due to elevated risk of potential harm to persons or public health, Medium’s Trust & Safety team has removed the following content under its rules (https://medium.com/policy/medium-rules-30e5502c4eb4)."

What? I did no such thing!

Why did Medium interpret my story in such a negative way?

I don’t know. Medium won’t say.

A little background

The major thrust of the removed article is to point out, using statistics (not opinion), the moving-target nature of this pandemic. The statistics included in the article show we need to alter our expectations of this pandemic’s duration and the mRNA vaccine’s effectiveness in real-world scenarios.

I never say in my article that a person should avoid these vaccines because they are dangerous to a healthy adult.

Yes, real-world vaccine effectiveness may not be 90% like the CDC had forecasted, but a 50% effectiveness is better than 0%…

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.