Adam Eyves
1 min readAug 2, 2022

--

As an American, it's hard to argue with you. And you made good points, somehow, without being inflammatory. Great job!

The flip side is that we have running water and electricity 24/7, excellent internet, and incredible highways. Try finding that in 75% of the world.

We have every part and piece you could ever imagine at our stores, every creature comfort and gadget you could ever wish for. The grocery stores are generally fully shelved, and we can afford to eat out. Try affording that in Oslo, Norway.

And, yes, we still have that loud voice we call freedom of expression you mentioned. I agree it's as annoying as hell sometimes, but at least we are still allowed an opinion in our society. Try being noisy in Japan. As the Japanese proverb says, the nail sticking up gets hammered down.

Yes, capitalism, health care, housing costs, and the social lunatics have run amuck as of late, but the elite .01 percent and fringe extremes don't define the average American and our way of life. Every country I have visited has societal and economic problems.

I've traveled and lived in many countries, and at the end of the day, I still find America an amazing place to be as a whole, although we seem to be on a social suicide mission at the moment. The pendulum swings back and forth.

Good article, Alan! I wish you the best!

--

--

Adam Eyves

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.